2003 Winner

Wil Hall
Senior; Quarterback
University of North Alabama




For IMMEDIATE RELEASE - December 12, 2003

 FLORENCE, Ala. -- University of North Alabama quarterback Will Hall claimed the Harlon Hill Trophy Friday as the Division II College Football Player of the Year- becoming the second Lion Player to win the award in nine years. 
Hall received 150 total points in the voting and 22 first-place votes, with a 35-point margin over the second place finisher.
The award winner is determined in voting by the Division II sports information directors and was presented in front of a crowd of almost 500 at the eighteenth annual Harlon Hill Trophy award banquet at the Florence Conference Center. 
The Harlon Hill Trophy is sponsored by Coca-Cola, the City of Florence, and Trustmark Construction. 
Hall, a senior from Amory, Miss., finished he season as the top passer in the NCAA Division II and led North Alabama to the semifinals of the NCAA Division II playoffs and a 13-1 season record. Hall completed a remarkable 71.8 percent of his  passes this season while throwing for 3,531 yards and 30 touchdowns. He also rushed for 467 yards and five touchdowns on 154 carries.
He directed one of the biggest turnarounds in Division II history, taking the Lions from 4-7 last season to 13 wins and a Gulf South Conference title in 2003. 
North Alabama linebacker Ronald McKinnon, now a standout with the Arizona Cardinals, won the 1995 hill Trophy, becoming the first and only defensive player to win the award. 
The Hill Trophy is named for another former UNA player- Harlon Hill- who was a standout with the Lions from 1950-53 before going on to fame in the National Football League with the Chicago Bears.
St. Cloud State senior quarterback Keith Heckendorf was a second with 115 points and 24 first-place votes, and Nebraska-Omaha senior tailback Justin Kammrad was third with 95 points and 12 first-place votes.
Following that trio in the voting were Mansfield senior linebacker Dan Holland at 74, Tusculum senior defensive back Ricardo Colclough at 71, Saginaw Valley State junior quarterback Mark Radlinski at 63, Tarelton State senior quarterback Clif Watkins at 46, and SE Oklahoma junior quarterback Drew Beard at 34.
A total of 34 players were initially nominated for the 2003 Harlon Hill trophy in their respective NCAA regions, with the top two players from each of  the Northeast, South, Midwest, and West regions advancing to national voting.
Heckendorf, a senior from Mosinee, Wisc., finished third in the 2002 Harlon Hill Trophy voting and has been a four-year starter at St. Cloud State. He threw a touchdown pass in 22 straight games and threw for 2,905 yards and 30 touchdowns this season. He ranks 11th nationally in total offense (289.9) and 18th in passing efficiency. Academically, he is a National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete award recipient and an Academic All-America selection. 
Kammrad, a senior from Council Bluffs, Iowa, led Division II in rushing this season with an average of 169.2 yards peer game. He rushed for a school-record 1,866 yards this season with 10 straight 100-yard games and four straight 200-yeard games. He also ranks fifth in all-purpose yards (174.8) and scored 14 touchdowns.
North Dakota State quarterback Jeff Bentrim won the initial Hill Trophy in 1986, before Texas A&M- Kingsville running back Johnny Bailey won three straight Hill trophies from 1987-89. 
Another North Dakota State quarterback, Chris Simdorn, claimed the 1990 award, followed by Pittsburg State's Ronnie West in 1991 and Ronald Moore in 1992, New Haven running back Roger Graham in 1993, Valdosta State quarterback Chris Hatcher in 1994, North Alabama linebacker Ronald McKinnon in 1995, Truman State running back Jarrett Anderson in 1996, Bloomsburg running back Irvin Sigler in 1997, Emporia State running back Brian Shay in 1998, Northern Colorado quarterback Corte McGuffey in 1999, Valdosta State quarterback Dusty Bonner in 2000 and 2001, Grand Valley State quarterback Curt Anes in 2002 and Hall in 2003.

TOTAL                                                                            1st 2nd 3rd
Points   Player                                                                Place Place Place
150        Will Hall                  QB SR North Alabama               22 31 22
115        Keith Heckendorf     QB SR St. Cloud State               24 17 9
95         Justin Kammrad       TB SR Nebraska-Omaha            12 19 21
74         Dan Holland             LB SR Mansfield                        15 7 15
71         Ricardo Colclough    DB SR Tusculum                        11 12 14
63         Mark Radlinski        QB JR Saginaw Valley State         10 10 13
46         Cliff Watkins           QB SR Tarleton State                  8 7 8
34         Drew Beard            QB JR SE Oklahoma St.               6 5 6








Copyright 2002
All Rights Reserved
Harlon Hill Award Committee
Florence, AL
Email Us