1990 Winner

Chris Simdorn
Senior; Quarterback
North Dakota State University

In 1990, quarterback Chris Simdorn became the second player from North Dakota State to win the Harlon Hill Trophy.  Simdorn took NDSU to a perfect record, a No. 1 ranking in the 1990 regular season, and a victory in the Division II National Championship Game.  He became the first quarterback in Division II history to rush for over 3,000 yards in his career, and was only the third quarterback to do so in all of NCAA history.  He also became the all-time leading rusher in Bison history with 3,313 yards.  Simdorn gained 776 yards on 143 carries in 1990, averaging 5.4 yards per carry, and scored 17 touchdowns.  He also threw for 821 yards and another nine scores for 1,597 total yards.  As a team, NDSU averaged 364.2 yards rushing per game to lead the nation, and were third in total offense with 461.8 yards per game.  The Bison were sixth in scoring with 38.8 yards per game.  He scored at least once in every regular season game, scored three TD's twice, and rushed for over 100 yards three times.  He was the first player in NDSU history to rush for over 1,000 yards in two seasons.  He took the Bison to a 33-3 record as a starting quarterback, including national championships in 1988 and 1990.   He rushed for over 100 yards in a game seventeen times, and ranked second in TD's in NDSU and North Central Conference history (53) behind only 1986 Harlon Hill winner Jeff Bentrim.  Named All-NCC Player of the week four times.

Copyright 2002
All Rights Reserved
Harlon Hill Award Committee
Florence, AL
Email Us