1986 Winner

Jeff Bentrim
Senior; Quarterback
North Dakota State University

Jeff Bentrim, the first winner of the Harlon Hill Trophy, quarterbacked North Dakota State to three national championships in four years.  In 1986, he led the Bison to a perfect 13-0-0 record.  He led Division II in scoring three straight years to become the first player in the division's history to win three straight scoring crowns.  He surpassed Walter Payton's NCAA Division II mark of 63 rushing TD's in a career, and finished sixth in the history of all NCAA divisions, with 386 points.  He led the Bison to the NCAA Division II Championship as a freshman in 1983 over Central State of Ohio, and was named the MVP of the Palm Bowl.  In 1984, he led the Bison back to the Championship Game, and back to another national championship in 1985 with a victory over North Alabama.  He quarterbacked the Bison to an 8-1 playoff record and was 38-4 as a starter.  He set NDSU records in career yards rushing (2,945), career touchdowns (64), and total offense (6,345).  He also set a school record with 14 100-yard rushing games.  He set North Central Conference records for career touchdowns (52), career points (312), and also holds the unofficial NCAA record for post season touchdowns with 11 rushing and 5 passing.   He also has 1,254 career total yards in nine NCAA playoff games.  He finished as the third leading rusher in North Central Conference history.

Jeff Bentrim Photo Gallery

Click Picture for Larger Image

Copyright 2002
All Rights Reserved
Harlon Hill Award Committee
Florence, AL
Email Us